• +27 76 854 6605

Kickstart 2021- TMA-SA Award winners 2021


Turnaround Practitioners have been instrumental in sustaining the South African economy during the devastating year that was 2020. The TMA-SA board and exco have decided to publicly honour those that have gone above and beyond the call of duty to reduce the impact of the pandemic on businesses and the jobs they provide.

Here are the winners!

  • Tim Stokes (LLB, MBA, CTP) is an attorney, an Experienced Business Rescue Practitioner (CIPC) and a Certified Turnaround Practitioner (CTP) through the Turnaround Management Association of Southern Africa (TMA—SA). Tim is an expert in the development and execution of legal and business strategy in the business rescue process.

  • Daniel Terblanche, Director, DT Consult RSA

  • Dr Keith Fairhurst, Director, Unleash Consulting (Pty) Ltd

  • Alastair Macduff, Chair, TMA-SA


We would like to publicly thank TMA-SA members who have been key players in strengthening the profession and the Association during 2020.

Here are the winners:


Awarded to a member under the age of 35 that sets an example for others through their contributions to the TMA-SA.


  • Caitlin Gottschalk, Director, Gottschalk Attorneys 

Recently selected to join the Board of Directors for the TMA-SA, Caitlin Gottschalk is also the founder of Gottschalk Attorneys. Her time is further divided between being an external specialist consultant for Gunston Strandvik Attorneys and a Director and Head of Legal for UBU International.

Caitlin obtained a qualification in BCom, Business and Corporate Communication, followed by a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree at the University of Pretoria.
After completing her candidacy, she gained experience in business rescue and during 2019, Caitlin was involved in the successful capital raising of USD$10-million for a local company.

Key Contributor: a member that has provided substantial contributions to the TMA-SA.

  • Quinton Pat Pattinson, (PTP), Managing Director of CPM Services, Senior Business Rescue Practitioner. 

    The Key Contributor Award went to our COO, Pat Pattinson. Pat has been a member for over 10 years and has filed 39 substantial Business Rescue Implementations and which has saved over 1700 jobs.  He has devoted a considerable amount of time and energy to TMA-SA by serving on various committees, assisting with establishing our various social media platforms and upgrading our website.

Market Maven: 

Awarded to a member that has been promoting the TMA out of their own initiative.

  • Stefan Steyn - A Senior Business Rescue Practitioner, a member of The Turnaround Management Association of South Africa (TMA), a Registered Accountant at The South African Institute of Professional Accountants (SAIPA), Completed his Master’s Degree at the University of Pretoria (Financial Strategy) and a respected specialist in financial modelling and implementation of turnaround strategies.

Committee Achievement Award:

Awarded to the committee that was most active and or provided outstanding contributions to the TMA-SA

  • Marius Pretorius, University of Pretoria, Professor of Business Management

  • Dr Keith Fairhurst, Director, Unleash Consulting (Pty) Ltd
  • François van der Colff, Senior Account Manager, Industrial Development Corporation of South Africa
  • Wanya du Preez, Manager in the Corporate Restructuring Group USA

  • Christiaan Lamprecht, Associate Professor, Stellenbosch University

Content Provider: 

Awarded to a member that has provided valuable written or other content to the TMA-SA.

  • Robin Nicholson

Legacy Award:

Awarded to a member that has been a part of the TMA-SA for more than 10 years and has consistently provided the TMA-SA with insight and guidance.

  • Alastair Macduff, Chair, TMA-SA

TMA Global on Twitter